#### **RESOLUTION NO.**

### A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF ALLEN, COLLIN COUNTY, TEXAS, DECLARING THE RESULTS OF THE JOINT GENERAL ELECTION OF THE CITY OF ALLEN HELD MAY 1, 2021, FOR THE PURPOSE OF ELECTING THE CITY COUNCILMEMBERS FOR PLACE NOS. 1, 3 AND 5; AND PROVIDING AN EFFECTIVE DATE.

**WHEREAS**, it is hereby found and determined that notice of the election was duly given in the form, manner and time required by law, and said election was in all respects legally held and conducted in accordance with applicable laws of the State of Texas and the proceedings calling and governing the holding of such election; and,

**WHEREAS**, it is imperative to consider the returns of the election held on May 1, 2021, for the purpose of electing the hereinafter named officials; and,

**WHEREAS**, the returns of said election have been duly and legally made and submitted to the City Council for canvassing, and a tabulation of the returns for the polling place and for early voting, as canvassed and tabulated by this governing body as follows:

|                           | EARLY<br>VOTES<br>CAST | BALLOTS<br>BY<br>MAIL | REGULAR<br>VOTES<br>CAST | PROVIS-<br>IONAL<br>BALLOTS | TOTAL<br>VOTES<br>CAST |
|---------------------------|------------------------|-----------------------|--------------------------|-----------------------------|------------------------|
| COUNCILMEMBER PLACE NO. 1 |                        |                       |                          |                             |                        |
| CHRISTOPHER GASPARD       | 147                    | 13                    | 75                       | 1                           | 236                    |
| MALCOM J. WILKINSON       | 158                    | 18                    | 77                       | 0                           | 253                    |
| DAREN MEIS                | 3,072                  | 45                    | 1,558                    | 2                           | 4,677                  |
| NATHAN POLSKY             | 157                    | 17                    | 123                      | 0                           | 297                    |
| ANDRE HINES               | 138                    | 16                    | 92                       | 2                           | 248                    |
| DWIGHT BURNS              | 2,261                  | 170                   | 1,094                    | 4                           | 3,529                  |
| COUNCILMEMBER PLACE NO. 3 |                        |                       |                          |                             |                        |
| JOSEPH JACKSON            | 99                     | 13                    | 64                       | 1                           | 177                    |
| JOEY HERALD               | 929                    | 33                    | 446                      | 2                           | 1,410                  |
| LAUREN DOHERTY            | 2,491                  | 213                   | 1,288                    | 4                           | 3,996                  |
| DAVE CORNETTE             | 2,563                  | 37                    | 1,318                    | 3                           | 3,921                  |
| KENNETH WINEBURG, JR.     | 43                     | 4                     | 21                       | 0                           | 68                     |
| COUNCILMEMBER PLACE NO. 5 |                        |                       |                          |                             |                        |
| DIANE MARTIN              | 512                    | 75                    | 268                      | 3                           | 858                    |
| DAVE SHAFER               | 2,848                  | 42                    | 1,475                    | 2                           | 4,367                  |
| PHILIP BREWER             | 2,393                  | 153                   | 1,164                    | 4                           | 3,714                  |
| EDSON MUREEBA             | 116                    | 13                    | 72                       | 0                           | 201                    |

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF ALLEN, COLLIN COUNTY, TEXAS, THAT:

**SECTION 1.** Said election was duly called, that notice of said election was given in accordance with law, and that said election was held in accordance with law, and that Daren Meis was duly elected Councilmember Place No. 1. Above named party is hereby declared duly elected Councilmember for Place No. 1, subject to the taking of the oath-of-office as provided by the laws of the State of Texas. It appearing that no one candidate

received a majority of all votes cast for the offices of Councilmembers for Place No. 3 and 5, it is hereby declared a runoff election is to be held on June 5, 2021, for the two candidates who received the highest and second highest number of votes.

**SECTION 2.** It is further found and determined that in accordance with the order of this governing body, the City Secretary posted written notice of the date, place and subject of this meeting on the bulletin board located in the City Hall, a place convenient and readily accessible to the general public, and said notice having been so posted and remaining posted continuously for at least 72 hours preceding the scheduled time of said meeting.

**SECTION 3.** This resolution shall become effective immediately from and after its passage.

# DULY PASSED AND APPROVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF ALLEN, COLLIN COUNTY, TEXAS, ON THIS THE 11<sup>TH</sup> DAY OF MAY 2021.

#### **APPROVED:**

Kenneth M. Fulk, MAYOR

ATTEST:

Shelley B. George, CITY SECRETARY